We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Ladbrokes World Hurdle History

The World Hurdle has developed into one of the feature races of the Cheltenham Festival in recent years and is the highlight of the season for the staying hurdlers, it is run over 3 miles so the runners will need to have plenty of stamina in the locker up the hill at Prestbury Park.

The race has thrown up some great winners down the years and particularly in recent times there have been some legendary multiple winners of the World Hurdle as the race and the Festival as a whole continues to attract massive public attention. It has only been run under its present guise since 1972, and it was moved to the Thursday of the Cheltenham Festival in 1993 which is where it has stayed ever since.

There are three horses that have dominated the World Hurdle since the turn of the century and they are the great Baracouda, Inglis Drever and Big Buck’s, each of these three great horses have dominated the race over the past ten years and will be remembered as legends of the staying hurdle division.

Baracouda was a French trained horse owned by JP McManus and he made the race his own in 2002 and 2003 with two scintillating performances. He was a horse that lit up Cheltenham on his best form and another one under that banner was Inglis Drever who won the World Hurdle three times for Howard Johnson, he won in 2005 before returning in 2007 and 2008 to claim an unprecedented hat trick of wins.

Inglis Drever developed a great rapport with the punters at Cheltenham with his heart and spirit there for all to see up the Cheltenham hill, any horse that wins the World Hurdle will need to have the will to win and Inglis Drever had it in bucket loads.

The current king of the World Hurdle is Big Buck’s who since turning to hurdles has never been beaten and shows no sign of slowing down; he is full of class and is one of the stars of the National Hunt scene at the moment for Champion Trainer Paul Nicholls.

He has simply been too good for the field in 2009 and 2010 and in doing so has brought the race right to the forefront of the sport, carrying on the baton from Inglis Drever and Baracouda earlier in the decade.

Along with the Champion Hurdle, the Champion Chase and the Gold Cup the World Hurdle is one of the four Championship races at the Cheltenham Festival and it has proven to be one of the most exciting and important races of the season.

2015 Ladbrokes World Hurdle Runners and Form

No doubt the 2014/2014 season will unearth some young pretenders who will be looking for Big Buck's crown and we will be keeping in touch with the latest form guides for the three mile contest.� Nearer the race we will also be providing a list of runners for the 2015 race.

2015 Ladbrokes World Hurdle Trial Races

Cleeve Hurdle (Cheltenham)

Galmoy Hurdle (Gowran Park)

Ascot Hurdle (Ascot)

Long Walk Hurdle (Ascot)

Long Distance Hurdle (Newbury)

Hatton's Grace Hurdle (Fairyhouse)

Recent Winners of the Ladbrokes World Hurdle

  • 2000 - Bacchanal
  • 2001 - No Race
  • 2002 - Baracouda
  • 2003 - Baracouda
  • 2004 - Iris’s Gift
  • 2005 - Inglis Drever
  • 2006 - My Way De Solzen
  • 2007 - Inglis Drever
  • 2008 - Inglis Drever
  • 2009 - Big Buck’s
  • 2010 - Big Buck’s
  • 2011 - Big Buck's
  • 2012 - Big Buck's
  • 2013 - Solwhit
  • 2014 - More Of That


Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Open Account Offer. Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code ‘100BET365’ can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way. 18+ begambleaware.org.

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


    View Complete Racing Schedule

    We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
    Got It