We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Topham Chase History

The Topham Chase is a Listed handicap chase run at Aintree's Grand National meeting over two miles, five furlongs for horses aged five years or older.

One of the highlights of the Grand National meeting the race allows jockeys to get a feel for the National courses as the race is run over the same course as the Grand National will be run over, but over a lot shorter distance.

It is often used by trainers who are looking to give their horses some experience over the unique Aintree fences before perhaps returning to Merseyside later on in the horse's career to try and have a crack at the Grand National itself.

In recent years, Monty's Pass and Bindaree have taken part in the Topham Chase before returning to Aintree later on in their career to lift the coveted Grand National crown.  Taking place the day before the Grand National, it also gives jockeys the chance to get acclimatised to the course before they take part in the National the following day.

Peter Bowen's Always Waining has been he most successful horse in recent years in the Topham as he managed to bag back-to-back successes in 2010 and 2011 to keep hold of the title.

Clan Royal was a classy winner of the 2003 renewal, whilst Cassia Heights and Dunbrody Millar have caused shocks in the race having bagged the crown at huge double-figured prices.

Recent Winners of Topham Chase

  • 2002 - Its Time For A Win
  • 2003 - Clan Royal
  • 2004 - Cassia Heights
  • 2005 - Cregg House
  • 2006 - Liberthine
  • 2007 - Dubrody Millar
  • 2008 - Gwanako
  • 2009 - Irish Raptor
  • 2010 - Always Waining
  • 2011 - Always Waining
  • 2012 - Always Waining
  • 2013 - Triolo D'alene
  • 2014 - Ma Filleule