We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Ryanair Chase History

The Ryanair Chase is a Grade One race run on day three of the Cheltenham Festival over two miles, five furlongs for horses aged five years older.

A relatively new addition to the Cheltenham Festival schedule, the Ryanair Chase was introduced when the festival was extended to four days in 2005 and is now regarded as one of the leading contests of the meeting.

Ran before the World Hurdle, the Ryanair Chase attracts seasoned chasers as well as some up-and-coming stars.  It tends to attract a field who are either not quick enough for the two mile Queen Mother Champion Chase or don't have the stamina to contest the Cheltenham Gold Cup.

The inaugural running of the Ryanair Chase was won by the Paul Nicholls-trained Thisthatandtother ridden by Ruby Walsh and the pair teamed up again in 2007 to win the race with Taranis.

Even in its short roll of honour the Ryanair Chase has seen some highly-rated horses bound to glory and 2009 winner Imperial Commander was the best of them.  The Nigel Twiston-Davies-trained runner used his 2009 victory as propulsion on to bigger and better things and managed to go back to the 2010 Cheltenham Festival and win the coveted Cheltenham Gold Cup.

Jonjo O'Neill and AP McCoy created a little bit of history in 2011 as they managed to retain the title they won in 2010 with Albertas Run as the ten-year-old stormed up the Cheltenham hill in 2011 to become the first horse to win back-to-back Ryanair Chase titles.

2014 Ryanair Chase Runners and Form

We will be keeping a close eye on all the potential challengers that could line up for the 2014 Ryanair Chase and providing any relevant form guides for the race.  As soon as the declarations have been made we will provide you with a whole list of runners that will be vying for Cheltenham Festival glory.

Recent Winners of Ryanair Chase

  • 2005 - Thisthatandtother
  • 2006 - Fondmort
  • 2007 - Taranis
  • 2008 - Our Vic
  • 2009 - Imperial Commander
  • 2010 - Albertas Run
  • 2011 - Albertas Run
  • 2012 - Riverside Theatre
  • 2013 - Cue Card
  • 2014 - Dynaste