We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Mersey Novices' Hurdle History

The Mersey Novices' Hurdle is a Grade One race run at Aintree's Grand National meeting over two miles, four furlongs for horses aged four years or older.

One of the leading novice events of the three-day meeting this contest often sees horses who ran in the Neptune Investment Management Novices' Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival turn out again and look to gain Graded success before the enf of the season.

It is also used as a springboard to bigger and better things and the roll of honour certainly has an illustrious look to it with 1980 winner Wayward Lad setting the bar high from an early stage.  Tony Dickinson's raider made his name over the larger obstacles and during an illustrious career he recorded three King George VI Chase wins along with two Charlie Hall Chase victories.

Morley Street was a classy winner of the 1989 renewal and he went on to win the Champion Hurdle in 1991, whilst Coulton and Cyborgo were a brace of notable winners of this race during the 1990s.

However a star was born in the Millennium running of the race, as Henrietta Knight's Best Mate bagged glory before going on to become one of the greatest racehorses of the modern era.  Sent chasing, the Knight-trained star went on to win three Cheltenham Gold Cups in the decade to become one of Cheltenham's finest equine stars.

More recently, Garde Champetre won the race for Paul Nicholls in 2004, whilst Neptune winner Peddlers Cross secured victory in the 2010 renewal before finishing second in a Champion Hurdle the following year.

Recent Winners of Mersey Novices' Hurdle

  • 2000 - Best Mate
  • 2001 - Montalcino
  • 2002 - Classified
  • 2003 - Leinster
  • 2004 - Garde Champetre
  • 2005 - Turpin Green
  • 2006 - Natal
  • 2007 - Tidal Bay
  • 2008 - Elusive Dream
  • 2009 - Bouggler
  • 2010 - Peddlers Cross
  • 2011 - Spirit Son
  • 2012 - Simonsig
  • 2013 - Ubak
  • 2014 - Lac Fontana