We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Maghull Novices' Chase History

The Maghull Novices' Chase is a Grade One race run at Aintree's Grand National meeting over two miles for horses aged five years or older.

Established in 1954, the Maghull Novices' Chase will see many runners who competed in the Arkle Challenge Trophy at the Cheltenham Festival head to Merseyside to try and bag glory in this top class two-mile contest.

The last horse to bag both Arkle glory at the Cheltenham Festival and then went on a month later to win the Maghull Novices' Chase was the Howard Johnson-trained TIdal Bay, who achieved the feat in 2008.

However, there have been some top class chasers, who have won this contest before going on to bigger and better things later on in their career.  Peter Easterby's Night Nurse had already won a brace of Champion Hurdle crowns before bagging the 1979 renewal, whilst Paul Nicholls' Flagship Uberalles was a classy winner of this contest in 1999.

Having already bagged the Arkle, Flagship Uberalles then stormed to a nine length victory in the Maghull Novices' Chase and that would prove to be the catalyst to greater achievements as he went on to win more Cheltenham Festival glory in the 2002 Queen Mother Champion Chase.

Nicholls has had an excellent record in the race and the Ditcheat handler amassed five winners in this contest with the likes of 2007 winner Twist Magic, who went on to win the Tingle Creek Chase and Tataniano, who was a classy winner of the 2010 renewal.

Recent Winners of Maghull Novices' Chase

  • 2000 - Cenkos
  • 2001 - Ballinclay King
  • 2002 - Armaturk
  • 2003 - Le Roi Miguel
  • 2004 - Well Chief
  • 2005 - Ashley Brook
  • 2006 - Foreman
  • 2007 - Twist Magic
  • 2008 - Tidal Bay
  • 2009 - Kalahari King
  • 2010 - Tataniano
  • 2011 - Finian's Rainbow
  • 2012 - Sprinter Sacre
  • 2013 - Special Tiara
  • 2014 - Balder Succes