We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Epsom Oaks History

The Oaks at Epsom is the fillies equivalent of the Epsom Derby, it is open to three-year-old thoroughbred fillies and run over the 1 mile 4 furlongs trip of the more famous Derby for the colts. What many don’t know is that the Oaks was actually first run a year before the Derby at Epsom in 1779, when it was won by a filly called Bridget who was owned by the 12th Earl Of Derby who was the man behind the race in the first place. The Oaks is of course one of the British Classic races and is one just of two reserved for the fillies with the 1000 Guineas being the other, so it is sure to attract a stellar list of entries each flat season.

Epsom is a very demanding race course for the fillies and any horse wanting to feature in the Oaks will need to cope with the undulations and stamina test on offer, it is not just a question of the quickest but the runner who acts at Epsom the best as well as showing the turn of foot needed. The horse that on paper has doubt with those conditions best of all was Intrepidity who won in 1993 in record time of 2:34:19, it is a time that many have come close to but none have so far have surpassed and the Andre Fabre trained horse remains top of the tree.

There are a number of trainers with great record in the Oaks but perhaps the most famous in the modern era is the great Henry Cecil, he is one of the most trainers still in the game and he has saddled the winner of no less than eight Oaks from Oh So Sharp in 1985 to Light Shift in 2007. A Cecil horse is always worth following in the betting and no one would be surprised to see him add to his tally in the Oaks over the coming few years. He knows what type of horse runs well at Epsom and he always has them in top shape for the big race so he really can be called at Oaks legend.

Over the past few years we have seen a number of the Oaks winners go on to bigger and better things with huge wins around the world, trainer Ed Dunlop has done it twice since the turn of the century with Ouija Board in 2004 and most recently with the excellent Snow Fairy in 2010. Ouija Board went on to become a Breeders Cup winner while Snow Fairy has won prestigious races in both Japan and Hong Kong following her success in the Oaks, this highlights that the Epsom Oaks really can be the start of a glittering season for a three-year-old filly.

Recent Winners of the Epsom Oaks

  •          2000 - Love Divine
  •          2001 - Imagine
  •          2002 - Kazzia
  •          2003 - Casual Look
  •          2004 - Ouija Board
  •          2005 - Eswarah
  •          2006 - Alexandrova
  •          2007 - Light Shift
  •          2008 - Look Here
  •          2009 - Sariska
  •          2010 - Snow Fairy
  •          2011 - Dancing Rain
  •          2012 - Was
  •          2013 - Talent
  •          2014 - Taghrooda
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Open Account Offer. Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5. Bet Credits available for use upon settlement of bets to value of qualifying deposit. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&Cs apply. The bonus code ‘100BET365’ can be used during registration, but does not change the offer amount in any way. 18+ begambleaware.org.

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


    View Complete Racing Schedule

    We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
    Got It