We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Anniversary 4-Y-O Juvenile Hurdle History

The Anniversary 4-Y-O Novices' Hurdle is a Grade One race run at Aintree over two miles, 110 yards for horses aged four years old.

Having originally be titled the Lancashire Hurdle and run as a Grade Two contest, it changed its name and was promoted to its current status and is now one of the highlights of the Aintree Grand National meeting.

Only open to four-year-olds the race is often competed by horses that have contested the Triumph Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival the month before and some have managed to bag both crowns in the space of a month.

Recent winners include Detroit City, who won the Triumph at the 2006 Cheltenham Festival before heading to Merseyside to lift the 4-y-o Novices' Hurdle a month later for trainer Philip Hobbs, whilst Alan King's Katchit emulated that feat the following year.

However, Katchit was a horse that would use this contest as a springboard and having notched up the novice double, he then returned to the Cheltenham Festival and was a gallant winner of the 2008 Champion Hurdle

Binocular won the 2008 renewal at Aintree and then copied Katchit's achievements by going on to lift the coveted Champion Hurdle crown at the Cheltenham Festival to show this is generally won by a potential hurdling superstar.

Zarkandar was a classy recruit for Paul Nicholls in the 2011 season and he would be another who'd etch his name in both this trophy and in the Triumph Hurdle as he stormed to victory in both for the Ditcheat team and is bound to progress when tacking the creme de la creme of the hurdling scene in future seasons.

Recent Winners of Anniversary 4-Y-O Novices' Hurdle

  • 2000 - Lord Brex
  • 2001 - Bilboa
  • 2002 - Quazar
  • 2003 - Le Duc
  • 2004 - Al Eile
  • 2005 - Faasel
  • 2006 - Detroit City
  • 2007 - Katchit
  • 2008 - Bincoular
  • 2009 - Walkon
  • 2010 - Orsippus
  • 2011 - Zarkandar
  • 2012 - Grumeti
  • 2013 - L'unique
  • 2014 - Guitar Pete
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
Bet £10 Get £30
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & full T&Cs apply.

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


    View Complete Racing Schedule

    We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
    Got It