We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
Got It

Aintree Hurdle History

The Aintree Hurdle is a Grade One race run at Aintree's Grand National meeting over two miles, four furlongs for horses aged four years or older.

Established in 1976, this contest has always attracted the leading hurdlers from both the UK and Ireland and many contenders would've battled it out at the Cheltenham Festival in the Champion Hurdle the month previously.

Fred Rimell's Comedy of Errors was victorious in the inaugural race and added the Aintree Hurdle to his two Champion Hurdle crowns he won in 1973 and 1975, whilst the highest rated hurdler of all time Night Nurse dead-heatted with Monksfield in the 1977 contest to show that this race would see the creme de la creme of the hurdling world compete for top notch success.

Incidentally, Monksfield went on to perform admirably on Merseyside again as he grabbed glory in 1978 and 1979 to rack up his third title in as many years.

Dawn Run was another classy horse and Paddy Mullins' superstar went on to win the 1984 Aintree Hurdle having already bagged the Champion Hurdle at the Cheltenham Festival and the Irish Champion Hurdle in the same year en route to the Grand National festival.

Morley Street eclipsed Monksfield's record in the early 1990's as he stormed to four successive victories for trainer Toby Balding, whilst towards the end of the decade the legendary Istabraq took the prize or Aidan O'Brien.

Al Eile grabbed three titles during the 2000's, whilst there have been some equally classy winners including Khyber Kim and Oscar Whisky, who have both enhanced the illustrious roll of honour in a race that has terrific history.

Recent Winners of Aintree Hurdle

  • 2000 - Mister Morose
  • 2001 - Barton
  • 2002 - Ilnamar
  • 2003 - Sacundai
  • 2004 - Rhinestone Cowboy
  • 2005 - Al Eile
  • 2006 - Asian Maze
  • 2007 - Al Eile
  • 2008 - Al Eile
  • 2009 - Solwhit
  • 2010 - Khyber Kim
  • 2011 - Oscar Whisky
  • 2012 - Oscar Whisky
  • 2013 - Zarkandar
  • 2014 - The New One
Bet £10 Get £30 in Free Bets
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers using Promo Code P30 only, min £10/€10 stake, min odds 1/2, free bets paid as 2 x £15/€15 (30 days expiry), free bet/payment method/player/country restrictions apply. T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org
Up to £100 in bet credits
Exclusive Promo Code
Up to £100 in Bet Credits for new customers at bet365. Min deposit £5 and 1x settled bet requirement to release Bet Credits. Min odds, bet and payment method exclusions apply. Returns exclude Bet Credits stake. Time limits and T&C's apply, 18+ begambleaware.org.
Bet £10 Get £30
Exclusive Promo Code
New customers only – Minimum deposit of £10 using deposit code 30F - A qualifying bet is a ‘real money’ stake of at least £10 placed on any sports market - Minimum odds of 1/2 (1.5) - Free bets credited upon qualifying bet settlement and expire after 7 days - Free bet stakes not included in returns - Deposit balance is available for withdrawal at any time. General deposit method & withdrawal restrictions apply & full T&Cs apply.

We are committed to supporting Responsible Gambling Initiatives - For additional information visit : GamCare | Gamble Aware | Gamblers Anonymous

Tom Lee's Betting Tips

View the latest racing tips from RTE Racing Presenter Tom Lee.

Read Toms Tips Now

Upcoming Meetings


    View Complete Racing Schedule

    We use cookies to provide statistics that help give you the best experience of our site. By continuing to use the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn more
    Got It